+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: 1.2m Ku Gain?

  1. #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southland
    Posts
    14

    Default

    I've relocated the dish to Optus D2. I get 98% quality on RT and Press TV. They will have to do until I get a decent sized Ku solid dish.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	20180120_202523_resized.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	329.8 KB
ID:	455

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Hi Gavin,

    Looks good. Where did you get the LNB mount clamp/plate from?

    Regards,

    Richard

  3. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Southland
    Posts
    2

    Default 1.2 Dish

    Just signed up to NZDTV, I am interested in in playing around with Satellites.
    I brought a 1.2 dish from DishTV and a prime focus Ku lnbf and holder from
    Aliexpress. I received the Aus ch's at 97% then lost them half way through
    the 3rd cricket test and can no longer get them. I also brought a Triax 110
    dish and also lost the signal at the same time. Anyone know what size dish
    would receive the Aus ch's? or are they going for good.

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    484

    Default

    If you were watching the cricket test on the up link feed on I sat19ku for the third test (long form game from Adelaide weeks back), I found it needed a very good signal on my 1000mm triax dish.
    If you were getting off the Optus D1 on the Channel 9 multi stream Mux, then yes this TP does fade in and out.

    I have a box of 4 way LNB brackets for those Triax dishes if you need one.

    Owen

  5. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Southland
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I now have the I sat19ku Ch9 back but with the lnbf at 9 o'clock not 6

  6. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southland
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ras View Post
    Hi Gavin,

    Looks good. Where did you get the LNB mount clamp/plate from?

    Regards,

    Richard
    Hey Richard.

    I bought the plate with LNB from ultrapower.co.nz for around $85. http://www.ultrapower.co.nz/images/Prime-focus-LNBF.jpg.

    I should have been patient and just bought one from Aliexpress. The LNB was good, and the plate not so flash. I think it came out of service before I bought it, it was the last one and there was some tell tale signs. It wasn't snug enough on the throat, some dried glue on the back of the feedhorn etc... Not enough to make the call
    though.

    The LNB I'm running now I got through Amiko NZ'z distributor: http://www.amikonz.com/accessories/t...-ku-lnb-range/. It's the Inverto single feed Ku C120 flange type, and the Invacom feedhorn with threaded/adjustable
    scarlar so you can fine tune unwanted noise and the edge of the dish, not just the overall F/D of the antenna inside the LNB. Worth the 0.8dB? Probably not.

    I get 98% on RT, Press TV on Optus D2; or 93-95% quality from D1 which dropped to 90% during a hail storm. Flicking back to the 60cm I had 46% quality during the storm. RT via the IS19 transponder in MPEG4 I think it was about 89-93% quality.

    I could not get the multistream for the life of me. Given the above about the Triax coming and going, I'm still curious as to whether this receiver does do multistream, or I really need to shell out for a 2.3m. At the moment, I'm happy watching RT as good as I can get it on D2 instead, and satisfied I have a 16APSK receiver for the future. If, it's the dish.
    I'll probably get a DVB-S2 card for my PC one day and then confirm this or not. I want to play around with sending a DVB channel over Wi-Fi and a transponder or two (the whole MPEG transport stream) over my LAN with VLC. I have more devices than satellite receivers
    Last edited by kiwi_rock; 26-01-2018 at 02:14 AM.

  7. #27
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Hi Gavin,

    Cool. I have the Invercom C120 LNB and adjustable feedhorn. Looks like I'll make something to mount it myself.

    I assume when you say 2.3m dish, you mean the mesh dishes usually used for C band. Be interested to know how much loss there is at Ku vs a 2.3m solid.

    Regards,

    Richard

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Hawkes bay
    Posts
    608

    Default

    Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180126_181025.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	481.8 KB
ID:	458Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180126_181218.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	367.4 KB
ID:	459

    Orbitron 3.8, inverto twin uni lnb and skybox f3
    Last edited by wiilliiss; 27-01-2018 at 06:17 PM.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts