+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: 1.2m Ku Gain?

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi_rock View Post
    A solid one piece 1.2m offset with regular LNB would have saved a lot of trouble and money I think.
    Although only 1.1m, I can recommend the Triax 110 if you decide to go that route. It was the closest to 1.2m I could find in NZ.

    https://digitalimports.co.nz/index.p...&product_id=69

    I guess though, you've spent enough on this to persevere with it and sounds like you've made good progress.

    Thanks for the tips regarding the LNB mounting. I have an Invacom with adjustable feedhorn and was thinking I'd need to make a new mounting plate and your experience has convinced me to go straight there, rather than mess with the original C band scalar ring.

    Good luck,

    Richard

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Hawkes bay
    Posts
    560

    Default

    1.2m dishes are neither something or nothing
    too small for most c signals and marginally better than a
    9 dish
    Would go for a 2m4 dish instead

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southland
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ras View Post
    Although only 1.1m, I can recommend the Triax 110 if you decide to go that route. It was the closest to 1.2m I could find in NZ.

    https://digitalimports.co.nz/index.p...&product_id=69

    I guess though, you've spent enough on this to persevere with it and sounds like you've made good progress.

    Thanks for the tips regarding the LNB mounting. I have an Invacom with adjustable feedhorn and was thinking I'd need to make a new mounting plate and your experience has convinced me to go straight there, rather than mess with the original C band scalar ring.

    Good luck,

    Richard
    So the bracket that came with the Prime Focus LNB was a real pain. I ended up getting an inverto Ku LNB C120 type and an Invacom (just read your post above and already bought these this week gone) and the Invacom had a thicker throat on it which made using the Ku adapter plate that came with the thinner one easier to fasten really solid. The most however I can get from this, is 14.8dB.
    I think the same gain would be possible on an offset 90cm Ku dish. As the most I can get out of the Sky dish is around 12.1 peak, 11.2dB average. So the 1.2m solid petal is not really accurate enough to deliver gain on a Ku setup for the given size of the dish. The Invacom adjustable feedhorn allowed me to have the LNB not so close to the dish and adjust for another .5dB out of the dish.

    Sadly, the DVB-S2 receiver (X1000HD+) will not show a signal on the Channel 9 transponders on IS19. I can pick up their feeds transponder at about 73% quality. I can also pick up the DVB-S2 Mux with RT and Euronews on it at about 93-95% quality. I've read somewhere the Channel 9 feeds maybe now DVB-S2X. The RT/Euronews is very poor bitrate though. This decoder doesn't do the HEVC decoding clone of RT.
    In all, I'm happy with the Invacom feedhorn and Inverto Ku LNB. The other LNB was okay, but because it was an exact match to the mounting adapter plate, it wasn't sturdy enough for a good tight straight centred possition for the LNB it originally came with, but I'm using it with the Invacom feedhorn fine.

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southland
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Thanks for the link for the Triax. I might end up getting one of those. At the end of the day, the 1.2m C-Band isn't a loss. It's an aesthetically nice looking replacement for D1 or D2 reception with no rainfade

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi_rock View Post
    Sadly, the DVB-S2 receiver (X1000HD+) will not show a signal on the Channel 9 transponders on IS19. I can pick up their feeds transponder at about 73% quality. I can also pick up the DVB-S2 Mux with RT and Euronews on it at about 93-95% quality. I've read somewhere the Channel 9 feeds maybe now DVB-S2X. The RT/Euronews is very poor bitrate though. This decoder doesn't do the HEVC decoding clone of RT.
    In all, I'm happy with the Invacom feedhorn and Inverto Ku LNB. The other LNB was okay, but because it was an exact match to the mounting adapter plate, it wasn't sturdy enough for a good tight straight centred possition for the LNB it originally came with, but I'm using it with the Invacom feedhorn fine.
    No, the 9 mux is still DVB-S2. It is multistream though - maybe you need to manually add the stream ID on the Ultraplus? I have no experience with STBs. What has changed over the last month or two is that the strength has dropped and is quite variable. When I first set the dish up, with a clear sky here, I'd see a CNR of 16dB, where now the best is just over 14. The threshold is around 13, so not much margin and I don't think anything has changed here, as France24/Euronews strengths and CNRs are the same.

    If you mean by "The RT/Euronews is very poor bitrate", that it is frequently breaking up, be careful not to confuse this with poor reception at your end. I get these at very good strengths and during the worst breakups, the decoder is showing no bit error rates, so it would appear that somewhere upstream of the IS19 uplink has a pretty marginal reception. Pretty poor really.

  6. #16
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Apsattv
    Posts
    3,266

    Default

    Can confirm the 9 mux does fluctuate i've had quite a few reports of it, you need 13dB minimum for it to play with clean pics anything lower isn't good enough. I do multipe scans daily on the Aus based receive station and see it fluctuate in the day. Usually it drop out for the evening

    A shame the X1000 doesnt manage hevc hard to get a unit that does it all in that price range.

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Southland
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Apsattv View Post
    Can confirm the 9 mux does fluctuate i've had quite a few reports of it, you need 13dB minimum for it to play with clean pics anything lower isn't good enough. I do multipe scans daily on the Aus based receive station and see it fluctuate in the day. Usually it drop out for the evening

    A shame the X1000 doesnt manage hevc hard to get a unit that does it all in that price range.
    I get nothing on 12569V. Not even a faint signal. I'm starting to think it's my receiver. At least with the 9 feeds transponder I get about 40-50% quality on the receiver. The 12286H I get a 93% quality.

    I thought multistream was all part of the DVB-S2 standard.

    I even tried adding the VPID/APID's manually but no joy.

    The 12286H transponder shows 14.8dB CNR on my meter. I get zero on 12569V or 12568 (It says it's DVB-S2 but I think only 8PSK). This is on both of my LNB's.

    What kind of SNR/CNR in dB is the signal for 12569V compared with 12286H?

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Hawkes bay
    Posts
    560

    Default

    Signal of 12569 is within 1 of 12552
    Snag being 12552 has fec of 1/2 or 2/3, 12569 is 8/9
    In skybox terms 72 Q or greater will do then 12288 will be Q78 and 12646 will be Q75

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Hi Gavin,

    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi_rock View Post
    I get nothing on 12569V. Not even a faint signal. I'm starting to think it's my receiver. At least with the 9 feeds transponder I get about 40-50% quality on the receiver. The 12286H I get a 93% quality.

    I thought multistream was all part of the DVB-S2 standard.
    Yes, multistream is part of the S2 standard, but not all demodulator chips support all the features or modulations. Your ultraplus should be OK, as I see one NZ supplier advertising this as suitable for receiving this mux.

    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi_rock View Post
    The 12286H transponder shows 14.8dB CNR on my meter. I get zero on 12569V or 12568 (It says it's DVB-S2 but I think only 8PSK). This is on both of my LNB's.
    This almost certainly means your meter does not support 16APSK modulation, which the mux uses.

    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi_rock View Post
    What kind of SNR/CNR in dB is the signal for 12569V compared with 12286H?
    At the moment, with grey overcast and very light drizzle, I'm seeing 13.3dB CNR on 12569V and 14.8dB on 12286H


    Regards,

    Richard

  10. #20
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Apsattv
    Posts
    3,266

    Default

    on aussie pc

    9 mux 13.3dB at the moment

    6.15pm NZ 18/01/18
    12568 Vertical 26803.616 16APSK 8/9 DVB-S2 ON 0.35 Inverted CCM 94.615 36.184 13.3 -35 MIS: 4, BER: 0.0410650, Time to lock: 434 ms
    12285 Horizontal 29993.105 8PSK 3/4 DVB-S2 OFF 0.20 Inverted CCM 66.854 35.991 13.9 -32 MIS: 0, BER: 0.0000000, Time to lock: 555 ms 18-Jan-18 1:20:38 PM
    12525 Horizontal 29993.109 8PSK 3/4 DVB-S2 OFF 0.20 Inverted CCM 66.854 35.991 12.9 -33 MIS: 0, BER: 0.0000000, Time to lock: 394 ms 18-Jan-18 1:20:38 PM
    12725 Horizontal 28053.99 QPSK 3/4 DVB-S Auto 0.35 Inverted CCM 38.780 37.872 15.8 -33 MIS: 0, BER: 0.0000000, Time to lock: 572 ms 18-Jan-18 1:20:38 PM

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts